Skip to content

11 Things that are normal that are actually weird

Saturday, October 22, 2011

 

 

 

look, it’s Spring!

1. I can name about a dozen árboles nativos, that is, native trees — of Chile, of course.  I certainly know more about this topic here than in Massachusetts, because it’s been part of my job here.

2. People that I have never met before, a) name their children and I know them, and b) make a comment or “compliment” about me running.

3. My brain automatically thinks, “How’s the fire?” every twenty minutes.

4. I am a science teacher in Spanish.  Last week, I was co-teaching a lesson about measuring weight, using kilograms and a package of yerba mate.

5. When I go to the bigger “supermercado“, I know at least half of the people, and stop to kiss, talk, greet.

6. My house sounds like it is about to break when the wind blows.  Recently I was wondering if I was going to get picked up, like the Wizard of Oz.

7. There is a siren/ring at noon every day.

8. When I was standing outside my house at midnight with a few friends while they were smoking, a group of high school students walked by: “Hola, profe!”

9. I always do laundry first thing in the morning, so it has all day to dry around the fire (or sometimes, outside).

10. Roosters and dogs make noise all night.

11. I went to the teacher’s day party dressed up as “Japanese”:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

