Skip to content

A Break-up Letter

Friday, September 9, 2011

Dear Winter,

I’m not a complainer.  Really.  When I worked at a coffee shop and it was my job to comiserate about the weather with customers, I didn’t like it.  Sure, it’s cold, it’s raining, it’s snowing, but that’s what it is! I wanted to say.  Why wish things were other than the way they are?  All of this weather is part of the nature of things.  And it’s beautiful.  A rainy day, a cup of tea.  A sunny day, an picnic at the beach.  There is a time and place for everything.

However…

… these are the pajamas I’ve worn since May.  Yes, all together, including the hat.  Also I have 3 blankets and 3 down comforters on my bed.  Really, winter?  It’s time to go.  Chau.  The dark evenings of Chris Pureka and three fleeces, the icy mornings where I see my breath over breakfast, the unheated hallways at school.  I’m done.  Yes, I can make fire without much stress but that doesn’t mean I always want to — and it certainly doesn’t mean I want to come home to a 35 degree house.

Sure, you have your endearing qualities: warm bread and butter (I’ve been experimenting with oatmeal bread); mate and tea curled around the stove; snow (it is beautiful).  But enough is enough.  My nose and fingers are cold, as I write this by the fire (started three hours ago), in long-underwear, sweater and fleece.  The novelty has worn off, this is just plain annoying.

It’s been good, by it’s time to go our separate ways.

Sincerely,
Margaret

P.S. Don’t get me started on the fact that I’ll be back in New England for winter, Take II in less than 3 months.  At least my parents have a hot tub.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane Woodman permalink
    Friday, September 9, 2011 4:54 pm

    Meg it’s good to know what you want and not to get stuck in a relationship that you’ve had it with. Good luck! xo

  2. Friday, September 9, 2011 5:20 pm

    My mom’s a therapist, so I’m pretty good at communicating feelings.

  3. David Russell permalink
    Friday, September 9, 2011 5:32 pm

    I laughed out loud. Yes, you are not a complainer, but without central heating it is not easy. You are very respectful in your break-up!

  4. Friday, September 9, 2011 5:37 pm

    Well, this is the edited version.

Trackbacks

  1. Fiestas Patrias, Part II « Latitude 43

Leave a Reply

