Skip to content

Latitude 34˚

Sunday, July 10, 2011

Look, a street full of people and I don’t know a single person.  This country mouse is not in Palena anymore!  I am in Buenos Aires and environs with my family, and let me tell you, I am enjoying everything: white towels, store windows, real coffee, the sunny 60s, not chopping wood.  After five months where the only things to spend money on have been copete (alcohol) and cell phone minutes, I am enchanted by all the opportunities to buy, and of course, so easily pleased with the variety and deliciousness of the food.

Here’s the deal: I’m in Buenos Aires through July 17 on “vacation”, and then I am traveling by myself in Chile, landing in Santiago that afternoon and piecing together a few different contacts.  It’s a bit scary to be traveling on my own this way, but it feels like a risk worth taking, and at very least, I will accumulate some good stories.  I’m not sure how much I’m going to be blogging, but at very least, I will be back to posting as normal in August when I return to Palena for the second semester.

And coming soon: guest blog posts by my family about our time together in Palena!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

