Skip to content

Winter Favorites

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Here are few of my new favorite recipes (aka I need to do something with myself to pass the time before MY FAMILY ARRIVES HERE IN PALENA!).  I will try to add more pictures soon.

One-Pot Winter Pasta

I was making this for dinner on Thursday when the power went out, which is why I don’t have any pictures.  I briefly considered abandoning ship, but realized that by fire and candle light (thanks for the birthday candle, Mom and Dad!), I could see enough, and besides, I can cook mostly by feel.  It turned out great– I love the unusual combination of pasta and hard-boiled eggs.  P.S. We got the power back on Friday.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • your favorite pasta
  • frozen peas
  • your favorite cheese, grated
  • splash olive oil
  • tad of butter

Directions:

As you get your water boiling, gently place the two eggs in the pot.  When the water is boiling, add pasta and salt the water.  After about four minutes, add the peas.  When the pasta is done, drain the whole thing and scoop out the eggs.  Add the olive oil and butter to the pasta and while it’s melting, rinse the eggs in cold water so you can handle them, then peal and chop and throw back in the pot.  Add your cheese and enjoy!  Note: I actually sauteed some garlic and onions in a separate pan to add in at the end, which certainly enhanced the dish, but unfortunately ruins the title.  You choose.

 

Arroz con Papas

Arroz con papas: July::
Pasta with chard: May

Seriously, I eat this all the time.  Rice is good, potatoes are good, but cook them together with some turmeric and now we’re talking.  Thank you, Melissa, for the inspiration.  With a salad and a few scrambled eggs, this is current my go-to almuerzo (remember, lunch is the big meal!).

Ingredients:

  • splash olive oil
  • generous dash salt
  • chopped garlic clove or two, or even garlic powder (someone left here, I confess to sometimes using it)
  • small dash turmeric (for color!)
  • rice (I usually use about 200ml for me)
  • potatoes (I usually use about 4-5 mini potatoes), un-peeled, semi-finely diced

Directions:

While water is boiling in the electric water-heater, sauté your rice with the oil and garlic.  Just before you add the water (double the amount of rice you used, like usual), add in the salt, turmeric, and garlic powder (if using).  If you are using white rice, add the potatoes right away; if using brown rice, add the potatoes after a good ten minutes (since the rice takes longer to cook, this keeps the potatoes from getting too mushy).  Cook until it’s done, and grind fresh pepper on top before eating.

 

Margaret’s Vegi-Latke Remix

Best for last!  This is what I had for lunch today, as scene above with a few fried eggs (I now have a spatula!).  The recipe is inspired by Smitten Kitchen’s Zucchini Latkes but I did my own thing, namely adding carrot, using flour for matzo meal, and generally not following the directions.  I definitely plan on making this again, given that it is festive/special but not super involved, and also quite inexpensive.  This “recipe” makes one generous almuerzo portion and will also provide me breakfast tomorrow morning.

Ingredients:

  • one onion, finely diced
  • one zucchini, seedy middle cut out
  • one hefty carrot, peeled (I’ve got the short, stubby variety here)
  • one potato
  • a lot of salt
  • as much pepper as you have the patience to grind
  • one egg
  • a lil’ big o’ of your flour du choix (white, matzo, gluten-free…)
  • oil for pan

Directions:

Put your frying pan(s) on the stove center (I guess that means turn on a burner if you have a gas or electric stove).  Grate zucchini, carrot, and potato into a large bowl and add the onion and salt.  Ideally, let this sit for a few minutes and then push through a colander.  I don’t have a colander so I just scooped up handfuls and squeezed out water over the sink, but that worked just fine.  Add the egg and enough flour to make it kind of hold together.  Fry the pancakes in a little bit of oil over medium-high heat, until you can flip them, and both sides look golden brown.  Let them wait/ dry out a bit in the oven while you finish the other batch.  Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

