Skip to content

Look! I’m on the Internet.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Here is some shameless self-promotion:

My blog is now listed in these two directories: Bloggers in Chile Unite and Smith College Alumnae Blogs & Websites .

World Teach, the organization that recruited me for this position, has now updated its website with what I wrote for a “Day in the Life” section about Palena (with a few sentences kept from what the previous volunteer wrote).  Note the mate picture you’ve seen here.

Also on that page (or with this link) you can read the Foundation’s June newsletter (in Spanish), which showcases updates about our various projects.  The first photo with me in it is from a regional English teachers network meeting; the second photo is me with my adult English class (attendance decreased sharply after that photo was taken!).  On the right there is a picture of two girls showing pencil-holders made from plastic bottles with me in their science class.  Below that, the woman with the loom is my beloved weaving teacher I went to the circus with and who made me a birthday treat.  She’s also on the first page in green.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, July 5, 2011 4:08 pm

    I randomly found your blog and ,I have to admit, I’ve somehow been drawn in. The one thing I’m wondering is how you were recurited by World Teach? I’ve looked into them in the past, and I didn’t know they recruited people.

    • Thursday, July 7, 2011 10:19 am

      I’m glad you are enjoying my blog! Let me clarify: I wasn’t “recruited” by World Teach, what I meant to say is that for this particular program, World Teach functions almost as a hiring service, meaning that while I applied through them, my actual job and supervision is almost entirely run by the Fundacion Patagonia Sur. As I understand it, for most of their programs, World Teach trains and supervises their volunteers. I hope that answers your questions, feel free to leave more anytime!

      • Thursday, July 7, 2011 4:17 pm

        Ah, gotcha! I understand now. Do you feel that you would have benefited from some of that training? ps- Reading your blog only reinforces the fact that I NEED to go abroad again.

  2. Monday, July 18, 2011 8:29 pm

    I did have some training, I think the issue is that a lot of the World Teach orientation materials don’t apply in Patagonia, but teaching is still teaching. If you want to talk more about going abroad, feel free to email me: mwoodmanrussell@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

