Skip to content

Gnocchi

Sunday, April 17, 2011

8:00 First glance at the clock.  After a moment of panic, I realized it was Sunday!

11:00 Get out of bed, make fire (one of my quickest!), put in a load of laundry, eat leftovers for breakfast.

12:00 Arrange laundry to dry around the fire.  Deep clean fridge– so satisfying.

1:00 Skype with parents.

2:30 Put some potatoes in the oven before heading out for a run.  I translate “45 minutes at 400 degree oven” to mean “Big roaring fire, oxygen open, biggest potatoes closest to the fire.”

3:20 Back from run, where I waved to almost a dozen students; “Hola, “Hola Tía”, “Hola Miss Margaret” and one “Hello!”  I bring in some wood and pick apples while I’m still warm and sweaty.

4:30 After stretch, push-ups, shower, begin gnocchi-making in earnest:

1. Prep vegis for sauce while potatoes cool (that’s right, yellow cherry tomatoes from the Foundation greenhouse!).

2. Peel and grate baked potatoes:

3. Stir in egg, salt, and then mix in flour, praying this will form a dough.

4. Miraculously, I have a dough I can knead just like bread dough!  I forgot how much I love kneading.  That might be my favorite part of the whole experience.

5. Divide kneaded dough into six balls, roll each one out in snake, and cut off little baby gnocchis.  I quickly gave up on making ridges with a fork.

6. Put one plate in the freezer (that’s all that will fit), and another two plates in the fridge (awaiting their turn in the freezer).

7. Cook one little snake’s worth for my almuerzo, big meal of the day, whoops, it’s 5 PM, but it’s Sunday and I live by myself!  I get to do whatever I want!  My beautiful late-summer vegis are cooking alongside.

8. Enjoy!

Notes: While this was certainly delicious, it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever cooked, and honestly, the process was the really fun part.  Somehow I wanted to spend hours of my Sunday on an unnecessarily elaborate cooking project (I can hear my Dad saying, and why not just chop up some potatoes and boil them?), and so I did!

I am resting a bit now before I fold laundry and finish cleaning the house, as people are coming tonight: one of the women from the Foundation will stay in the house with me for two weeks, and tonight she is arriving with two sociologists who are helping out with some research.  I know I will feel claustrophobic at times as my solitude is interrupted, but I am also looking forward to the energy and excitement of being all together.  Also, this will be a short week of school because of Easter– we have Thursday afternoon and Friday off.  I am trying to cook up a way to go somewhere, but we’ll see.  Tonight, I’m making an apple crisp to say, welcome.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jane woodman permalink
    Monday, April 18, 2011 6:05 pm

    LOVE all the cooking! It’s genetic!

  2. Tuesday, April 19, 2011 1:20 am

    I still can’t believe you have to make a fire every morning…and they’re just going to keep coming…since it’s FALL!

  3. sally johnson permalink
    Tuesday, April 19, 2011 11:44 am

    okay, I don’t even like Gnoccis but got hungry reading your description and preparation! 🙂
    No dying Easter Eggs for the children? wouldn’t that be a hoot?!
    hope the company is more welcome than exhausting. thought of you while watching the Boston Marathon yesterday…went to cheer the runners on. Will cheer you on too, if you run…?next year??
    Much love,
    Sally

  4. Sally Johnson permalink
    Friday, April 22, 2011 8:41 am

    Margaret,
    Not related to your post, but wishing you a Happy Easter/Passover/Spring! called Alice yesterday to wish her a happy b-day…how can she be 25! Wedding plans are well in hand. Five weeks to go!
    Much love,
    Sally

Leave a Reply

