Skip to content

Just food

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Chard and chickpeas, beets, and brown rice from Argentina.

Leftover brown rice with chard sauteed with tofu (sent to me by parents) and soy sauce from Argentina.

“Ruffles”, i.e. Lays with ridges, are called “Corte Americano“, American cut.  I have seen no other kind of Lays for sale.

Borscht: Beet, onion, carrot, potato soup, with crema and cilantro.  I have a batch in the freezer.

My second baked good, apple bread, in the oven.  Previously, I made chocolate chip cookies, and I’ve also roasted cauliflower.  As I translated the recipe from cups to milliliters, I also made notes like: “stove full, leña seca, rotate after 15 minutes, half close [oxygen flow], add one log leña mojada.”   Result: perfect until I got to the middle, which was still gooey, but I cut off the edges and popped the rest back in the oven and it turned out fine.  And it felt so good to have something to give to the many people who have given so much to me.

As I am baking, I am charging my Kindle on my MacBook Pro.

I also have an electric stovetop, microwave, and plug-in tea kettle, for warm days and early mornings.

I know I said just food, but here’s Rocky, my neighbor’s dog and my good friend, though he is banished from the campo for killing three sheep, and he has also allegedly stolen a shoe from display in a store to eat.  All I know is that I am soothed by him, as he follows me to school, or comes running when I call his name to give him a scoop of doggy food.  And last week, when I found out our dear cat Rosie died, it felt so good to pet him behind the ears as cried and cried.

Food adventures to come: squash (sold by the slice– I want to roast, to blend, to make into pumpkin bread and pie and savory sauces), pizza, bread.  I was thinking of making gnocchi today (inspired by this recipe) as a cozy Sunday project, but it’s warm enough not make a fire, so I’ll save that for another day.  Instead, I’ll head out for a run in a bit, and later I’m meeting up with an acquaintance who might become a friend.  But really, as usual, I have no idea how the day will unfold.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jane woodman permalink
    Sunday, April 10, 2011 12:30 pm

    This is my kind of blog post – FOOD! Clearly your creative cooking is holding up without a problem, wood stove and all. Yum Yum,
    xoxo

  2. Monday, April 11, 2011 4:43 pm

    I’m sorry about Rosie. Losing pets is so hard. Hugs.

  3. sally chapdelaine permalink
    Wednesday, April 13, 2011 7:27 pm

    I love the food displayed and I just love that you have Rocky in your life!

  4. Donna Randall permalink
    Wednesday, April 13, 2011 7:30 pm

    Glad you had a furry friend to help you through the sadness of losing our girl, Rosie. I miss her too, and she barely tolerated me!

    Be well.

    DR

Leave a Reply

