Skip to content

Día de la Mujer

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

"Not saints or whores, just women." This was sent to me by a like-minded Smith feminist- distinct from the tone of the day here.

7:30 wake-up (school starts at 8:00, but today I decided to take advantage of the fact that I didn’t have to be there until 8:45.  My co-English-teacher had encouraged me to sleep in…)  Get dressed in sweater and jacket in chilly, chilly morning.  Enjoy oatmeal and tea.

8:45 Arrive at school.  Greeted with “Felíz día de la mujer [Happy women’s day]”.  Visit 8th grade English class to introduce myself.  Students are stunned and confused and laugh nervously as I speak to them in English.  Go to teachers’ room to plan for day.

9:30 Have coffee with teachers during break.

9:45 Introduce myself to 7th grade English class.  Go to 1st grade to begin diagnostic test with students, one by one.

9:50 Help tearful 1st grader find the bathroom.

11:15 Have coffee with teachers during break.

11:30 Teach 2nd grade English.  “What is your name?”

12:30 Attend lunch put on by male teachers in honor of female teachers, for Día de la Mujer.  As I listen to the principal thanking women for the work we do both at home and at school, as male teachers pour us juice, all I can think is, looks like I’m not at Smith College anymore (and is this international apology day?).  Also discover new Spanish teacher is vegetarian!

1:00 Return home to cook up chickpeas and cauliflower, as planned; eat a bit, freeze the rest.  Shed coat and sweater, change to skirt.

2:00 Answer door to let in guides (from eco tourism company we work with) to use the internet.  Cruise the internet and catch up on my email.

3:00 Return to school for meetings and planning (students are only in the morning this first week).  Sign up to run an assembly for Environmental Week in June with another teacher.

4:00 Have maté with special education teachers, who invite me to participate in a project with their students and the foundation greenhouse.  Agree to find out if this is possible.

5:00 Meet with my co-English teacher and plan 3rd and 4th grade English classes for tomorrow.

6:30 Come home.

6:45 Visit grocery store next door to ask about battery recycling campaign.  Figure out where office is to pick up my Chilean identity card tomorrow.

7:00 Run into a teacher in the street, and get invited to go to her house for tea.  We have onces of tea, yoghurt, homemade honey bread and jam.  We talk about Spanish, English, and travel.

8:15 Receive call from another teacher, inviting us to have dinner at her house for Día de la mujer.

8:30 Head home, quickly finish plans and make poster for class tomorrow.

9:00 Google phone with my favorite teacher, Dad.

9:30 Arrive at house for dinner.  Feel awkward about not bringing anything, promise to bring something next time.

10:00 Other guests arrive.  Wine, nibbles.  I try to keep to one glass, while everyone else has two.

11:30 Dinner of chicken and various vegetables.  I am very grateful that hosts already know I am vegetarian, and have made an effort to make extra salad for me.

12:45 More talking and more wine.  We talk about students, parents, teachers, town politics.

1:00 Attempt to leave, get scolded for being such a gringa and trying to leave early.

1:30 Leave with everyone else.

1:45 Arrive home, set my alarm for 6:45.  Tomorrow I have 3rd grade English at 8:00.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, March 9, 2011 6:01 am

    Get some sleep, gringa! Sounds like your day is full of exciting but intense teaching experiences (helping the first-grader find the bathroom especially got me) – your life sounds so grown-up to me 🙂 I know you can handle it all with grace and aplomb. xo

    • Wednesday, March 9, 2011 3:18 pm

      Thanks Caitlin- I am sure feeling tired today. And your life sounds grown-up to me!

  2. sally johnson permalink
    Wednesday, March 9, 2011 1:25 pm

    Margaret,
    Welcome to class(es)! 🙂 what a day. helping a child find the bathroom probably made one of the biggest impressions of the day. so many classes, so many different levels of understanding. how wonderful the other women have included you in meals, planning, and even wine! 🙂
    and so it begins!
    Love,
    Sally

    • Wednesday, March 9, 2011 3:19 pm

      Thanks, Sally! Yup, so many things going on, but hopefully it will begin to settle down soon. And yes, even wine. =)

  3. mpr permalink
    Wednesday, March 9, 2011 2:25 pm

    I love that you’re eating dinner at 11:30 after I’ve gone to bed, Little Miss Smith Crew. How the tables have turned.

    ❤ ❤ ❤ <3, a like-minded Smith feminist

    • Wednesday, March 9, 2011 3:20 pm

      You’re famous! And yes, long gone are the days of watching 30 Rock at 8:00 PM.

  4. Kate permalink
    Saturday, March 12, 2011 9:37 am

    I’m just catching up on your posts, and I just want to tell you how much I’m enjoying them! Itseems like you’re having a great time! Also enjoying the smith/30 rock comments!

Leave a Reply

