Skip to content

Beginnings

Thursday, February 3, 2011

After three days of this…

… I have arrived in Coyhaique, the regional capital of this part of Chile.  I’m staying in a cozy hospedaje run by a sweet older woman out of her house.  Here is the view from my room:

One of the women from the Fundación is taking me around this week, and she is wonderful– we’ve had many conversations about family, travel, politics, Chile, and so on.  I am still exhausted, by little by little, making my way here.  Coyhaique is very small for a “city”, and very sweet.  And the mountains– there’s nothing to say, the picture doesn’t really capture it either, but my oh my, the mountains.   More on this another time.

This morning we went shopping for a cell phone, adaptor, and a few other things I needed.  The first two places we went for a phone, we were told the person who could open the case hadn’t arrived yet, and would come later.  When we went back, at the first place, someone else told us that the promotor that could sell us a phone was not coming today, but at the second place, we bought my phone!  So far I have two contacts, and five messages containing instructions about the phone that I haven’t read yet, but, you know, poco a poco.  I just got back from a delicious lunch at a bustling, home-y restaurant, where I had omelette de verduras, along with agua con gas, warm rolls, and a salad of tomato and avocado (called palto here, not Mexican aguacate).

We had a similar adventure getting a bus ticket for me for Saturday (when I leave for Palena, about 12 hours), and also investigating a day trip for tomorrow.  Tonight I think we’re going to a fiesta at the house of one of the people from the office.

I am learning so much, and trying to be gentle with myself as I slowly adjust.  But there is no rush.  This is going to be quite the year.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    Thursday, February 3, 2011 2:07 pm

    So glad to see that you finally arrived safely!

  2. Davie permalink
    Thursday, February 3, 2011 2:51 pm

    Yay! Sounds great. I am glad you finally made it. Have fun!

  3. David Russell permalink
    Thursday, February 3, 2011 3:53 pm

    We will stay tuned!

  4. jane woodman permalink
    Thursday, February 3, 2011 4:04 pm

    Oh my… there is so much to absorb! Every minute is new. I’m with you in spirit every bite of the way, xoxo

  5. Thursday, February 3, 2011 7:54 pm

    I love the airplane shot! Gorgeous.

    • Thursday, February 3, 2011 10:43 pm

      Thanks big sis! That one is in Santiago, and there was an even better shot leaving the airport in Coyhaique, but I was too shy to go for it… I need to bring out my camera more, I think. Maybe tomorrow.

  6. Jenny Ladd permalink
    Thursday, February 3, 2011 8:44 pm

    Its so wonderful to look out your window and see mountains and forest then look out my window and see mountains of snow!

    Thanks for sending the pictures – both verbal and photographic!

    Love, Jenny

    • Thursday, February 3, 2011 10:42 pm

      I know, I can’t believe the snow up there. Strange that it is summer here, yet today chilly and windy. We’ll see!

  7. Maria Paz Ramirez permalink
    Saturday, February 5, 2011 1:29 pm

    I learned about your blog from Jeff Lowenstein’s facebook post. I’m from Chile (though it’s been ages since I’ve been there) and you arrived in Chile on my birthday!! Congratulations on the start of a what sounds to be a great journey. I look forward to reading your posts throughout the year.

    Maria

    • Saturday, February 5, 2011 7:48 pm

      Maria, I am so excited to learn you are following my blog! Where in Chile are you from?

Leave a Reply

