Skip to content

Resiliency Training Begins Early

Tuesday, February 1, 2011


Ah yes, my first post from Chile.  Oh wait, turns out I am at a Days Inn in Miami!  Basically, a series of miscommunications at the Miami airport combined with some less-than-helpful airline agents, resulting in me missing my connecting flight to Santiago.  I spent four hours being bounced between airlines that blamed each other, until finally (rest assured) I have a boarding pass in hand for a flight tomorrow morning, and reassurance that (supposedly) my checked baggage will arrive in Chile with me then.  My mood has ranged from mildly amused to dangerously furious, but thanks to staying on the phone with my parents, and finally getting to a bed and pizza now, I’m doing just fine.

Of course, how this will play out tomorrow, since I will miss my domestic Santiago- Coyhaique flight by at least 10 hours, remains to be seen, but I am cautiously certain that it will all work out.  I have phone numbers and email addresses of all the people receiving me in Chile, and today I’ve remembered a lesson I first learned in Mexico: if you’re not sure the person you asked for directions/help/assistance knows what he/she is talking about, ask another person.  Keep asking until you’re sure.  I stand by my belief that most people are not trying to be malicious in any way– they are answering the best they can, doing their job the best the can, and if the seem frustrated or mean, it probably has nothing to do with you.

Thank you, blog, for lightening my mood about this horrendous evening!  Bed time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. David Russell permalink
    Tuesday, February 1, 2011 4:42 am

    Well chosen title: You encapsulated the experience cleverly in four words. I’m glad that you do have the strength and wisdom that you do have, and I’m glad you got the pizza! I wish you better luck today.

  2. Tuesday, February 1, 2011 6:31 am

    Thanks Dad! I almost put something about how you might remind me that spending money in Miami isn’t the worst thing– you know, state revenue down due to tourism, why not stimulate the economy. So, you know, I’m doing my part!

  3. jane woodman permalink
    Tuesday, February 1, 2011 8:13 am

    Meg, you’ve done as well as anyone could do with all the snags – GOOD JOB! (Our resiliency training as a parents paid off last night too, I think we slept a little…) xoxo

  4. Davie permalink
    Tuesday, February 1, 2011 9:57 am

    Oh no! Well at least you got to snuggle with the pizza. I hope the rest of your trip occurs smoothly, at least your not trying to fly out of boston logan today or tomorrow. Things always work out!

  5. Tuesday, February 1, 2011 10:21 am

    Margaret the Resilient!Quite a trial for you on this
    new journey of yours. Hope the rest of the travelling goes well and smoothly for you. I think you are very
    wise and a most extraordinary and adventuresome young woman! Much love, Sally/mamasheep

  6. Jenny Ladd permalink
    Tuesday, February 1, 2011 4:54 pm

    Hi Meg,

    So happy to be following your journey via this blog. So far you are surfing the waves of travel quite well! Enjoy the water! Know I am holding you in my thoughts as you learn, experience, grow, give, receive – all of it!

Leave a Reply

