Skip to content

Ready, Set

Saturday, January 29, 2011

The past few days have looked mostly like this:

Though I have felt anxiously buzzed about all the details of packing, I have started to relax as I remember that this is not The End, the most important things cannot be lost in a checked bag, and after all, I’ll have the internet in Chile.  There is so much uncertainty about the eleven months ahead, but these are known unknowns.  I am planning on being surprised and confused, and also excited and curious and thrilled.  But it still doesn’t feel quite real.  I like when people ask me questions about it because it helps me remember: the day after tomorrow I will begin a 30 hour journey from 43˚N to 43˚S (leave Ipswich 9:00 AM Monday, arrive Coyhaique 3:00 PM Tuesday) where I will live for a year.  How daunting, and yet, how clever of me to arrange such a plan!  I’m not sure when I’ll get to post next, but rest assured that no news is good news.

It’s go time.

P.S. Rosie has been pitching in with the packing:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, January 29, 2011 11:16 pm

    I see you are putting my room to good use packing.

  2. Saturday, January 29, 2011 11:17 pm

    Dah, sherlock.

  3. David Russell permalink
    Sunday, January 30, 2011 10:09 am

    I recognize those pictures! Happily the first one is now dated. In a few more hours packing will be done. A 30 hour trip to come–sounds crazy, but your adrenaline will get you through it. Keep us posted!

  4. David Russell permalink
    Sunday, January 30, 2011 10:51 am

    Rosie’s going to need a big rest after all the help she’s been giving. Don’t worry – we’ll make sure she takes it easy. xoxo

  5. jane woodman permalink
    Sunday, January 30, 2011 10:52 am

    P.s. that last comment was really from me.

Leave a Reply

